I can’t blame you.

I can’t blame you for my broken heart. Although I would absolutely LOVE to blame you, I can’t. I can’t do that because it isn’t your fault, entirely.

I need to stop trying to change people that don’t want to change. I need to stop giving chances to people who abuse my forgiveness. I need to stop walking back to the place where my heart ran from. I need to stop trusting words, and ignoring actions. I need to stop giving my all to people who give me nothing. I need to stop fighting for a relationship when I’m standing in the ring alone. I need to stop breaking my own heart. 

I need to stop breaking my own heart, because I am not sure how much more it can take.

I’m taking responsibility for myself.  & by taking responsibility for myself I mean that I am removing myself from people and situations that I know, deep down, were only going to continue to hurt me in the long run.

Friends, if this post tugged on something inside of you, I want to encourage you to listen to your “gut” (intuition). Listen to it and take a moment and feel what you are feeling. Only you know how you feel. Only you.

Your purpose in life is NOT to sit around waiting or begging for people to treat you right, to care about you or to love you. Screw them. You deserve better and there will be better people out there for you. Your tribe is out there. I am slowly, but surely, finding my tribe. I know it is scary and I know that sometimes the comfortability feels better than the unknown. I get it. Trust your journey.

Holding onto letting go is the hardest part. All those empty promises and the actions that spoke louder than words…I can’t blame you for not ever being the person I thought you were. I can’t blame you for not living up to the potential that I once saw in you. Those were my expectations and now they are my disappointments. I can’t blame you, I blame myself for holding onto something that wasn’t real, for holding onto something that was breaking my heart.

download (5)

Leave a comment